Posted by: Irene Fridsma | March 23, 2011

All the Ways

All the Ways

I fell in love with you
before you were born
before I felt you move in my womb
before a pregnancy test confirmed
your beginning

I fell in love in love with you
before you had a name
before you had a face
before you took your first breath

I fell in love with you
before I saw your tiny hands
before your little feet kicked
before your heart began to beat

I fell in love with you
when you were only a prayer
when you were only a promise
when you were still a twinkle
in your father’s eyes

I thought my heart would burst
as I loved you before you were born
at the gift of your presence
the beautiful baby in my arms

I thought my heart would burst
when I sent you off to school
when you graduated
when you got your first job

I thought my heart would break
when you were lonely
when life tested you to make you strong
when I couldn’t take away your tears

my heart delights to know you
as an adult
as a parent
as a friend

in all the ways
that matter in life
you have made me rich

Leave a Reply

Categories

