Posted by: Irene Fridsma | September 3, 2010

Red Flags

(at our poetry workshop we were asked to think about what we would do differently if we could go back and change something in our past. This was my 5 minute poem about do-overs.)

Red Flags

there were red flags that warned of danger
but I held my tongue so as not to interfere

there were red flags warning me
with such vividness
but I chose to believe
words and assurances
instead of reading the signs

I see red flags today
and choose to speak out
for the unpopular
for those without a voice
for those with fearful stories

evil prevails when good men do nothing
some one has cautioned

my voice clear and brave
with words of wisdom gleaned
along a journey
on a road less traveled

I see red flags and
will speak their truth

Responses

  1. I love this poem, Irene! Just what I’m going through. Learning to trust the red flags I see and speak up. Thank you.

  2. Goosebumps…


Leave a Reply

Categories

